Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Hearken by Kristen Day {Blog Tour}

Welcome to my stop on the Hearken Blog Tour! I am a huge fan of this series and am really excited to be able to share my thoughts (reviews) on all 4 books in the Daughters of the Sea Series! 

*Received a free copy in exchange for my honest review

Book Info-
Series-Daughters of the Sea Series # 4
By- Kristen Day
Publication Date-November 5th, 2013

Sometimes our souls hear what our minds and hearts refuse to accept. It will whisper its continuous cadence until we're strong enough to glimpse the truth. When the soul's whispers morph into screams, we're forced to gaze into the mirrors of time and see ourselves for who we really are. Would you be able to handle what gazes back?

Helpful Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Smashwords


I had the pleasure of reviewing Forsaken earlier this year and haven't been able to get the story out of my head since. And for this tour stop since I am reviewing the other 3 books I have decided to combine them all into one review.

My Review

There is a Goddess inside Stasia, growing and building with power as every day goes by. It has lied dormant for most of her life, but as soon as she steps foot into The House of Lorelei her entire world changes. Everything she has ever known about herself and the crazy 'hallucinations' she has is a lie, and as the truth of who she really is begins to unravel as Stasia realizes her life is in danger and in order to protect herself and those she holds dear she is going to have to tap into an old power and embrace her destiny. 

When we are first introduced to Anstasia she is some helpless, lonely girl afraid of who she is, or could be. Desperate to belong and feel loved. But by the time we reach the end of Forsaken she is a force to be reckoned with. No longer is she scared of who she is, lonely, or helpless. Now she is powerful and has a destiny that would make most shrink in fear. 

But with great power also comes great enemies. With the realization of who she is comes the very real truth that someone wants her dead, just for being her. And with every book the threat to her life becomes more real and even more threatening. As the threat grows and hunts her in sinister ways, Stasia battles to find an inner strength that will help her hold herself together and not shrink in fear at the incredible feats she must conquer. But in true Goddess fashion Stasia never backs down from a fight and tackles everything that life throws at her.

Every book Kristen Day takes the story of the blooming Goddess to a whole levels, along with your emotions. She has created incredible characters that elicit your undying love and devotion. Not only does she give you characters that you can see being your friends but she gives you an incredibly powerful, sexy as hell and dangerous book boyfriend! Oh wait, make that two incredibly sexy as hell book boyfriends. Both are certain to make your heart flutter and your mind swoon! Sounds like a winner to me. There is so much going on in this series, so many plot twists and incredible details, but unfortunately I can't share them with you. Because those great and awesome details would give away all the things that make this series awesome. 

Reading the Daughters of the Sea Series is a lot like riding a lightening storm, there are moments that shock you and leave you breathless and in awe, moments that scare the crap out of you and moments that make you weep with its power. Daughters of the Sea Series is the ultimate series that will give its readers love, humor, action, excitement, darkness and an amazing take on mythology! And I give every book in the series an astounding 5 Monster Cupcakes! Seriously you need to freaking read this series already!!!!

So since I am doing a review of all the books I have decided to share my most favorite moment. 

"You've changed everything. You make me want to be something better. You've transformed my world in a way I didn't think was possible and suddenly life has a million possibilities. Even normal day things are suddenly extraordinary just because I get to share them with you." (Awaken, kindle, loc. 1203).
"I would spend the rest of my life proving my love to her. She was my anything. She was my everything" (Chosen, kindle, loc. 572)

About The Author:
I am a southern belle at heart with a crazy streak that desperately tries to escape at every opportunity. I love all things nostalgic, rustic, and quirky. I've been told I see the world through rose-colored glasses, but I prefer to think of them as kaleidoscope glasses - swirling and morphing reality into something I can digest (who hasn't pretended those pasty lima beans were really kiwi strawberry jelly beans?).

I am the author of the DAUGHTERS OF THE SEA trilogy, which includes FORSAKEN, AWAKEN, and CHOSEN (Winter 2012). I love all books, but really enjoy writing young adult, paranormal romances. I've loved to write for as long as I can remember. My first published work was my poem RED in second grade (you guessed it - it was a poem about the color red - life altering, I know) that won me 5 gold stars and a spot in my elementary school's poetry book. That's when my addiction to the written word officially began. I was the only kid in fifth grade that actually enjoyed diagramming sentences. Go ahead and laugh – it’s okay.
When I'm not writing I'm making jewelry, painting, drinking sweet tea, watching the discovery channel, or going on random adventures in the mountains of North Carolina with my amazing husband. I graduated from Appalachian State University and dream of becoming a full time novelist.

Find Her: Website | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Facebook


1 comment:

  1. Hi Danielle! Thank you SO much for your review!! I can't tell you how much your words mean to me! Hearken was one of the hardest books for me to write because of so many things on personally, so it took extra dedication. Knowing that dedication paid off is unbelievably fulfilling!