Wednesday, June 5, 2013

Aberrant by Ruth Silver Blog Tour {Review, Book Soundtrack & Giveaway}

Welcome to my stop on the Aberrant Blog Tour!!! Today I will be treating you with my views of the book, the book soundtrack and a fabulous giveaway from the author! Before I dive in I am just going to tell you now that this is a book that you need to read! 

*I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review

Book Info-
By Ruth Silver
Ebook Publication Date: April 17, 2013
Cover Designed by Lazy Day Publishing

 In the future dystopian society of Cabal, the government instills equality for all and offers its citizens the perfect system.  There is food, shelter and jobs for everyone.  The one requirement is to follow the rules without question, including the government's match in marriage and "The Day of the Chosen", a lottery that randomly selects families to conceive children as natural means hasn't existed in generations.  Following her eighteenth birthday, Olivia Parker accepts her requirement to marry her childhood best friend, Joshua Warren, and is eager to start her work assignment and new life when it all comes abruptly to an end as she's arrested and thrown in prison.  The only crime committed, her existence.  Olivia is unlike the rest of the world born not from "The Day of the Chosen."  The truth haunts the government and puts her life in grave danger as one simple fact would destroy the perfect system.
 With Joshua's help, Olivia breaks free of prison and is forced on the run.  Together they set out to find the promised rebel town in search of a new home and new life together.  Their situation seems less than promising as they reach the town of Haven.  New rules and customs must be adhered to in order to stay.  Leaving would mean most certain death in the large expanse of the Gravelands.  Time is running out as the government mounts an attack to destroy Olivia and bury her secret with her.  Thrown into a world unlike their own, they must quickly adapt to survive.
 Helpful Links: Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble (Paperback) | Website

My Review:

When you first pick up Aberrant we are given a glimpse into a very sad time for the main character Olivia. At first I thought this would be story of how this incident was somehow caused by the government that led the city of Genesis and that Olivia's story would evolve around this pivitol moment in her life, but I was wrong. Olivia's life did not evolve around this moment but a moment that started before she was ever born. A moment well beyond her control and a moment that would come back to haunt her and her family.

There are many rules that govern the town of Genesis. Most of them preposterous, but it was all Olivia had ever known. All members of Genesis lived in identical houses, wore identical clothing, and ate identical food. Everything was out of the control of the people, with the government deciding everything, from who you married to the job you had, to when and if you had a child.

When all the members of Genesis reached their eighteenth birthday they were forced to go through what the town called The Day of the Chosen. Which was where the government determined who you would marry, because the government knew best. Luckily for Olivia, she got paired with her life long best friend Josh. Both were completely happy at the luck that they had with being matched together, but that luck would not last long. On the day they started their lives together, Olivia was arrested, her crime, being born. 

Torn apart by where she suddenly found herself, Olivia discovers a very deep secret about herself and her family. But luck is on Olivia's side so it seems as members of what is called the rebel alliance break her out of prison and smuggle her and her husband to a rebel city, where Olivia hopes to find freedom and protection, but only finds herself under more rules and restrictions with just as much fear. 

As Olivia and Josh's world is turned upside and they run trying to save themselves and the secret that they hold, they find themselves in what I like to call the hybrid world of Through the Ever Night and Divergent.  I strongly believe if these two books were to merge and create little book worlds, the book of Aberrant would be one of their little book babies. And I am perfectly okay with that. Ruth Silver gave me everything that I loved from both of these worlds and converged them together all while putting her own spin on things. Her characters were real, as I felt their pain and struggles, her worlds were very vivid and easy to imagine, and the story was fun to get lost in as the pages quickly flew past me as I devoured the story on the pages. 

But part of me wishes that the story was told a little slower, that things unfolded in less of a rush and I was given more chances to explore the area in which Olivia and Josh found themselves in. 

The crazy whirl wind ride that Ruth Silver created in Aberrant is definitely one that you have to embark on and one that I promise you will want to continue as she left us with an ending that just demands more from the story. There is so much more to come from Ruth Silver and the world of Aberrant and I can't wait to see what lies ahead!

Book Soundtrack:

1. Brick - Ben Folds
2. Runaway - Pink
3. My Immortal - Evanescence
4. Wide Awake - Katy Perry
5. Try - Pink
6. Ho Hey - The Lumineers
7. Come Along - Vicci Martinez
8. In the End - Linkin Park
9. The Escapist - Coldplay
10. Breathe - Alexi Murdoch

About the Author-
Ruth Silver attended Northern Illinois University and graduated with a Bachelor's in Communication in the spring of 2005.  While in college, she spent much of her free time writing with friends she met online and penning her first novel, Deuces are Wild, which she self-published in 2004.  Her favorite class was Creative Writing senior year where she often handed in assignments longer than the professor required because she loved to write and always wanted to finish her stories. Her love of writing led her on an adventure in 2007 to Melbourne, Australia.  Silver enjoys reading, photography, traveling and most of all writing.  She loves dystopian and fantasy young adult stories.  Her debut novel published by Lazy Day Publishing, ABERRANT is scheduled for release April 2013.  Ruth has been actively writing since she was a teenager.  She currently resides in Plainfield, Illinois.
Find Her: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Amazon Author Page 

Now make sure you enter this Awesome Giveaway from the author!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment:

  1. Thank you for hosting Aberrant and your thoughtful review.